Just Read: The Invention of Wings

0

Love this? Share it!

This post contains affiliate links meaning Splendry earns a small commission for purchases or clicks made through included links at no cost to you.

Set before the Civil War, The Invention of Wings explores the relationship between Sarah, a daughter of wealthy slave owners, and Hetty (Handful), a slave.

The two women each are trapped in their separate ways. Sarah is trapped by the expectations of her class and for women in general; while Handful is literally enslaved. The book flashes between the two as they each pursue their individual freedoms. I wasn’t a big fan of Sue Monk Kidd’s other best-sellers so I went into this with little expectation. I loved this book. Sarah Grimké was a real person (who I had never heard of) and I of course immediately had to learn about her life after reading the story. That’s a perfect example of what great historical fiction should accomplish.

Read-Alikes: Gone with the Wind, March, To Kill a Mockingbird and The Help

The following two tabs change content below.
Dara

Dara

Dara is a librarian to many, mom to two, and wife to one bearded man. Her hobbies include reading, watching Netflix, and serving as honorary (imaginary) godmother to Prince George. She has been learning to knit for 3 years. It is not going well.
Dara

Latest posts by Dara (see all)

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Loading cart ...